AIDEE ERHIME

COCKTAIL OF RANDOM THOUGHTS

VALENTINE SPECIAL

I know I am not the only girl who day dreams. Being very emotional, I tend to not have anything to do with any man, which explains why I was attached to only one man despite the fact that he had some annoying flaws. I always went back to him.

 I have had my own share of ‘crushes’ though. I remember my very first crush; I thought he looked like one of the famous Nigerian Twin Musicians, P-Square. I always dreamed of us going out together and even though I never attached any meaning to Valentine’s Day, I felt lonely each year. The boy is now a man and I cannot dream of even giving him a peck. His name is …., Uhm, I don’t think I can mention his name.

The other person I had a crush on is married now. I would do anything for him. He was my dream man; mature, nice stature, good looking in my own eyes, he loved sports, and I saw a great future for us. It so happened that he thought I was too small. Great, my stature has sent a lot of people away from me. I was heartbroken the day I heard he was married. And now, I do not even about him anymore. I am over the heart break and cannot remember his mobile number.

Oh, I remember another. I fell in love with him the very first day I saw him. Now that I think about it, I wonder what I even liked about him. The boy is now my bestie, and I love him so much. But dating would ruin everything.

It’s Valentine’s Day today. I don’t remember sleeping last night. All I could think about was how I celebrated the last Valentine’s Day. It was awesome, although it never got a page in my diary. My ex-boyfriend paid me a surprise visit. It was a dream come true. Only someone who has a never travelling boyfriend would understand. He took me out, we went to see my siblings and we all ate a local dish together in a local restaurant. It’s exactly a year and I still remember that day like it was yesterday.  Truth is I never had the ‘crush’ on him. I don’t even know why I ever dated him! It must be because the initial feeling wasn’t there.

Do you know a lot of girls would go to any extent just to be with the guy they have crushes on? Many girls have lost their virginity to such men, who just take advantage of the fact that the girl would go to any length. It so happens that these crushes wear away and you begin to ask yourself what exactly you liked in that guy. It’s weird! The lesson here is this: don’t get too carried away by a man you just like. Take time to understand yourself. I read somewhere that a crush lasts for four months; maybe we should wait for the four months to elapse before assuming we are actually in love with the man. From experience, the person we eventually end up with may be someone we never even loved initially, a mere friend who you ignored because you were too carried away by another man; a ‘crush’.

On a last note, treat yourself to something special this day and show love to those who need it. Go shopping, take one or two vodka shots, take a massage and eat well, after all, it’s VALENTINE’S DAY!Image

February 14, 2013 - Posted by | FICTION | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Nevrr mind, people always have there own thoughts

    Like

    Comment by levitra | February 20, 2013 | Reply


What do you think?

